MCC Verdict Clears Controversy over Akash Deep's Delivery in England vs India Test
The Marylebone Cricket Club (MCC) has confirmed that Akash Deep's delivery that dismissed Joe Root in the recent Edgbaston test was legal, putting an end to the debate. The delivery sparked controversy as replays suggested it was a no-ball, but MCC clarified that it was a fair delivery.

The controversy over Akash Deep's delivery that clean bowled Joe Root in the recent Edgbaston test between England and India has finally been settled. The Marylebone Cricket Club (MCC), the authoritative body on cricket laws, has confirmed that the delivery was completely legal, putting an end to widespread debate. Akash Deep's ball, which dismissed England captain Joe Root in the second test of the Anderson-Tendulkar Trophy, sparked heated discussion after replays appeared to show the Indian bowler's back foot landing outside the return crease - normally a no-ball. Many commentators and fans insisted it was illegal. Shortly after Joe Root had walked off and play resumed, commentator Alison Mitchell highlighted a critical oversight: the delivery was actually a back-foot no-ball. Speaking on BBC test match special on Saturday, she explained: "The delivery from Akash Deep - which we noted was wide of the crease - shows his back foot landing outside the return crease. It looks to be over the line by about two inches, maybe a little more. But comfortably over. The foot, which must land within the line, clearly doesn't. It just taps down beyond it. And yet, it wasn't picked up." Former England batsman Jonathan Trott, while commenting on JioStar, echoed this view. However, India's then head coach, Ravi Shastri, was confident on air that the delivery was fair. The on-field umpires Chris Gaffaney and Sharfuddoula Saikat upheld the decision, and the third umpire, Paul Reiffel, did not intervene.
MCC issues verdictNow, MCC has clarified the matter. An MCC spokesperson said: "On day four of India's test against England last week, there were questions raised about the delivery from Akash Deep which bowled Joe Root, with some fans and commentators believing it to be a no-ball. While Deep landed unusually wide on the crease, and some of his back foot appeared to touch the ground outside the return crease, the third umpire did not call a no-ball. MCC is happy to clarify that this was a correct decision in law." The MCC quoted the relevant law, Law 21.5.1, which states: "For a delivery to be fair in respect of the feet, in the delivery stride the bowler's back foot must land within and not touching the return crease appertaining to his/her stated mode of delivery." They further explained the key detail regarding the bowler's foot: "MCC has always defined the moment that the back foot lands as the first point of contact with the ground. As soon as there is any part of the foot touching the ground, that foot has landed, and it is the foot's position at that time which is to be considered for a back-foot no-ball." The spokesperson added: "Clearly, at the point Deep's foot first touched the ground, the back foot was within and not touching the return crease. Some of his foot may have touched the ground outside the crease subsequently - that is not relevant to this law. At the point of landing, he was within the crease, and this was therefore rightly deemed to be a legal delivery." Root's dismissal was a key breakthrough as England chased a massive 608-run target. The wicket reduced England to 50 for 3 on day 4, and they were eventually bowled out for 271, handing India a commanding 336-run victory and leveling the five-match series 1-1.
Published by: Saurabh Kumar
Published on: Jul 8, 2025
Read more | Too Early to Judge Sam Konsta's Test Career: Australia Coach Andrew McDonald